About Us

We are a Member Society of The Arts Society, which was founded in 1968 to promote and advance aesthetic education, to cultivate the appreciation and study of the decorative and fine arts and to aid the conservation of our national artistic heritage.

Our 200 members come from a large area ranging from Peebles in the west to Eyemouth & Berwick on the east coast, and from Lauder in the north to Hawick, Jedburgh and Wooler in the south.

The Tait Hall in Kelso, where we meet for lectures, is a large venue and we do not have limits on membership numbers: prospective members are welcome to contact the Membership Secretary at the number or email address given below. Annual membership is £60 (single) or £110 (joint)

A selection of visits is offered, usually in the spring and autumn, often to places of interest not normally open to the public.

Opportunities are available for members to take part in the work of Church Recording and Heritage Volunteering and to help at lectures.

Committee Members and Office-bearers

President: Evelyn, Duchess Of Sutherland

Vice-President: Melanie Houldsworth

Chairman: Edythe Hogg   01573 229624   chairman@asborders.org.uk

Membership Secretary: Julie Chapman Purchas 07561 057661  membership@asborders.org.uk 

Programme Secretary: Charmian Findlay  01573 410620

Treasurer: Sue Bennett

Minute Secretary & Newsletter: Jane Foulis

Heritage Volunteers: John Robertson    johnandmaryrobertson@gmail.com

Church Recorders:

Visits Secretary: Catriona Fulton

Young Arts: Jane Bathgate

Committee Member: Carol Mitchell

Audio Visual Team: Harry Cockerill & Tom Ingoldsby

Website: Andrew Findlay   webmaster@asborders.org.uk

Contact Form

13 + 12 =